Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heybuddy123

In-ground for season only?

HeyBuddy123
11 years ago

I had (have) a couple 6'-8' tall potted Plumerias that I took a bunch of cutttings from.

Once my cuttings root, could I plant them in the ground and dig them up in the fall to overwinter them?

I guess the question is, how deep do they root? Would this be easy to do?

Comments (10)

• Andrew Scott
    11 years ago

I've heard of people doing this before. I don't think they would be too deeply rooted. At least not with smaller sized plumeria. I have never done this before but I have seen pictures of people who plant them in ground, and then they bare root them and store them over the winter. I would check out the archives here.

Andrew

• elucas101
    11 years ago

A lot of people submerge them in the ground IN their container - for a first season that may be your best bet - that way you don't risk damaging the root system if it's newly formed.

• PRO
    the_first_kms2
    11 years ago

I would plunge the pot. first make it look like swiss cheese by drilling a series of holes (assuming its plastic) in the bottom and sides of the pot. be careful about maintaining the integrity of the pot.

Then when it is time to pull it up you can dig the pot out and essentially root prune off any roots which have grown through the drill holes.

• TruNorth7
    11 years ago

I plunged some of my plumies last year and am doing it with all of them this season; in fact I just plunged the first ones earlier this week. I drill 1/2" holes all around the black plastic pots, about 2.5" away from each other. I have had issues with the pots cracking (too much gusto with the drill bit, I guess), but leaving the pots in the sun for a few hours first has helped.

Those plants last year that were plunged did way better than those above ground, so I highly recommend this approach.