Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
socal_seahawk

Watering Question

SoCal.Seahawk
10 years ago

Hi Everyone.
I'm a newbie to, not just this site, but growing plumeria's in general. Truth be told, I've never really been convicted of having much of a green thumb, so go "easy"! :)
Here are a few pictures of the plumeria's that I currently have. I'm up in Anaheim Hills and the weather has been mostly moderate (daytime temps: 75 - 90* and night temps around 50*. Everything I've ever read says that during the "winter" the leaves will die and fall off and you should stop watering until the leaves return in the spring / summer. But with the temps being so warm this year, I felt guilty for not watering, but there are no leaves. Should I continue watering (I've been giving them each a healthy drink 1x a week) or should I stop? I fear that they have started to rot because I've been watering them.

Any help would be great!

Thank you.

Comments (4)

• daogirl - SoCal Zone 9
    10 years ago

Hi and welcome!

You can check the firmness of the plumeria just above the soil line to see if it is mushy or soft (which would indicate rot). Honestly, though, your plants don't look that different than many of mine, and I'm not very far away from your location. I have some larger plumeria that never quite went to sleep this winter, and so they are putting out new leaves already, but most of my smaller ones are just not awake yet. I don't think that our yo-yo-ing temps have helped (90 one day, 68 the next).

I've been watering mine about on the same schedule as yours. As long as your planting medium is well-draining, I wouldn't worry too much. Like others on this forum have said, I've noticed that the tips of the branches start to look shiny or wet before leaves start growing, so you can also check for that.