Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
disneyhorse

Can anyone ID this white plumeria?

disneyhorse
10 years ago

My neighbor's big tree is just starting to bloom. I've got a few rooted cuttings from it. I'm new to plumerias and to me it looks pretty generic. Any ideas?

Comments (14)

• disneyhorse
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Additional photo

• Kimo
    10 years ago

Whats the scent like? This early on in the season kind of hard to say for sure, kind of looks a bit like Psycho white....Bill?
    Again whats it smell like??

This post was edited by freak4plumeria on Mon, Apr 29, 13 at 14:14

• disneyhorse
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hmmm... All the current flowers are at the top of the tree (I had to hold my phone way up to get these pictures) but I will see if I can steal a flower off of it when no one is home to smell....

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    10 years ago

You ought to take a photo of the back of the bloom too, as well as of the whole plant...just in case there are any tell-tale characteristics that might id it. For example Psycho White has a red stripe on the back of each petal.

Unfortunately, whites are quite common and it could be anything, or a seedling.

• disneyhorse
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is the tree, it grows like a weed and is easy to root cuttings.

• disneyhorse
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Smell is fairly strong and sweet

• disneyhorse
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is the reverse side

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    10 years ago

Wow that looks to me like Bills "psycho" white to me.

of course only he can confirm.

Mike

This post was edited by mksmth on Mon, Apr 29, 13 at 15:02

• disneyhorse
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Okay, just googled Psycho White/Gardena and it does seem like that's what it is. Very vigorous and not too much dormancy... I'm just not a fan of white flowers, but at least it likes to bloom..

• Kimo
    10 years ago