Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
figara_gw

New to plumeria and need your help !!

figara
14 years ago

Hi ,

I am new to plumeria and this forum. A few weeks ago I got a couple of cuttings from a generous person . I planted them as I read in this forum and plumeria 101. My Jeannie Moragne cutting ( a middle cut ) had a few light brown area on it when I got it but I was not worried because the cutting was hard at the touch. Now the cutting doesn't look good. It started to root at the top and in the middle. Yesterday when I touched the cutting it was softer and when I squeezed it felt empty inside and I could hear the air going in and out. What should I do? Cut it till I find healthy tissue? Would the small (5-6") remaining cutting will survive? I read here that a small cutting has less chances to root.

If I cut it there is anything I can put on it to prevent further rot?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Comments (9)

• plumcr8zy
    14 years ago

Hi,
    Unfortunately, if the cutting is that soft and you can actually hear air as you squeeze it, I believe cutting it down until you find good wood is your only option, otherwise the rot will just spread and you'll lose the whole thing. If you do find a portion that is still good, you'll no doubt end up with a very small cutting. I've read that people have had success in getting them to root. At this point, you really don't have anything to lose. Try it and see what happens. It has been mentioned on one of the recent topics that DAP can be used to seal the cut end. The one thing I would really watch is the watering. Plumeria 101 shows the pot being really saturated with water when he first plants his cutting. In my opinion, that's too much water. I just wet the soil mix until it's damp. Especially if part of your soil is cactus mix. I just think cactus mix retains too much water. Hopefully, others will come in and give their thoughts. Good luck and I hope you have better luck with the other cutting.
    -Rick

• figara