Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spiroan

Question on plumeria seeds

spiroan
10 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this. I've been growing plumerias since last spring (with plants given to me by a friend). But this spring, I thought I would try some seeds. I ordered them from Brad's Buds and Blooms (very pleased with the amount they gave me - WAY more than I actually ordered). Anyway, they have been in the soil for about a week now, and I haven't had any germination. I thought I would see at least a couple of seeds germinate by now, but am I just being impatient? This waiting is not easy!

I just put the seeds in a potting soil/perlite mixture, and set them outside like it says on plumeria101.com. Has anyone had success with this?

By the way, I saw the post about the tornadoes in Oklahoma. Know that you guys are getting prayers from DFW as well!

Comments (22)

• elucas101
    10 years ago

Hi spiroan! A week is normal to not have sprouts yet, but I would say you should see something by 2-2 1/2 weeks. As long as they are kept warm (80-90) and with good moisture they should sprout if the seeds are viable.

I put mine in the same soil / perlite mixture you did, they seem to like that mix a lot. Try to keep your soil at that wet but not too wet wetness LOL! Easier said than done! I use a spray bottle to help control the moisture.

Seeds can also be finicky, depending on the variety - I have great luck with seedlings but sometimes the seeds just aren't great. I buy from Brad's too and the huge majority of the time their seeds are great but there are some seeds that just don't want to sprout - I tried 2 different batches of Cindy Schmidt seeds and none would make it, while some next to them under the same conditions would thrive. I've lost 3 or 4 of 7 Waimea seeds while every one of the Muang Lucite seeds sprouted. Go figure!

Please keep us updated on your progress, seeds are so fun!

• spiroan
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you, elucas! That helps a lot!