Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laura_sd

Plumeria roots growing into SW planter reservoir - Repot?

laura_sd
11 years ago

Hi everyone,

I have had my plumeria for about a year but bought it from a nursery already large, no clue how old. I planted it in a pot with a self-watering insert in the bottom b/c I'm not good at remembering to water and thought it would help me keep my plants alive. It has been doing well except for some insect damage. It recently came out of dormancy, now has many small leaves. I noticed the other day through the fill tube that there are many roots growing in the reservoir. Is this ok? Should I re-pot and effectively prune the roots that have grown into the reservoir? If that's the best option, when is the best time? I have an inflorescence growing on one branch and I definitely don't want to lose it. I also have an issue with some insect eating my leaves and a small spider crawling on it, easily visible with the naked eye. Any suggestions?

Thanks for any help,

Laura

Branch w/ inflo and hole

Comments (8)

• elucas101
    11 years ago

Plumeria roots don't like to sit in water so I would really consider getting them out of that reservoir somehow. Also, if the roots are reaching that, is the plant possibly a little root bound?

The best time to root prune is around spring time I believe, but someone with more root pruning experience can confirm or deny that, LOL! Determine if the container is the appropriate size and then either re-pot or move / cut the roots in the reservoir if there aren't too many.

The issue I have with a self watering reservoir is that you never fully flush your soil, which is a big benefit to container plants to flush out salts in the soil. Ideally, you want to thoroughly water your plant and then let it dry out before watering again. However, if this is your only option then it is what it is.