Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glasspass

How to heal deep cuts in Plumeria

glasspass
9 years ago

Through a series of unfortunate events, mainly the liberty of a rowdy 8 year old who thinks he's George Washington when given a small shovel, my plumeria now has four very distinct, and deep, gouges in the trunk. The cuts are now roughly 2-3 weeks old, I was hoping they would heal over on their own like the old leaf nubs, but given how deep they are I just don't think that's a great idea.

I'm worried that the stability of the trunk will be compromised because of this, so is there a way to heal up deep gouges in a healthy plumeria? They go almost half way through the plant, I rested my thumb nail inside it to give a bit of scale. Any ideas?

Comments (12)

• rox146
    9 years ago

I am not that good at this but I bet some one says Liquid Electrical Tape or DAP or wrap it for support? roxanne

• elucas101
    9 years ago

Hi there! I agree with Rox, I would say fill it with something to prevent moisture getting in and that's really all you can do. I think DAP (almond color) is a great choice as I know several people have used that with great results for sealing cuts. Good luck and please keep us updated on the progress!

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

It's unfortunate that your plant has the wounds, but overall the misfortune is slight and will prove to be of little consequence. Your plant has already started to compartmentalize the wounds. The injury is being walled-off, the plant's mechanism to prevent any spread of infection from the wound site to the rest of the plant.

Woody plants never heal in the sensed that they can't regenerate cells in the same spatial planes as animals can, but you can actually hasten closure of the wounds by using a very sharp tool to clean the wounds edges so they aren't ragged. The new callus tissue and cambium will then be able to 'roll' over the wound more easily.