Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mbb5815

Newbie, need help- Plumria leaves dark spot

mbb5815
10 years ago

Hello,
I'm new with Plumria, and desperately need help. A friend moved overseas and I happily adopted the potted mature plant - 21 yrs old. I got it mid November (we live in Boston), broke a few branches moving it, got it indoors and pretty soon the leaves fell off for winter. At the time I did notice dark spots on the leaves when they fell.
The new leaves has started, got 3 full ones, and a few baby ones (an inch or so long). The baby ones are looking healthy, the big ones all show dark spots, (please see pics). seems the older the leave, the more dark spots. No spots on underside of leaves. I just put them out on the deck a few days ago. I googled all over, don't seem to get answers how to treat these. I treaure this plant, don't want to damage it... It's in a full sun deck, too much sun?
Thank you so much...

Comments (10)

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    10 years ago

The older leaves were more used to the lower winter light and can do that. The younger ones will be more adapted. Mine do it when I bring them out of the greenhouse. You're doing good, its just adjusting. Be careful with watering until you have new full leaves.

Mike

• mbb5815
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Mike,
    Thank you so much. Do you advise not too much water until full leaves? e.g., an inch or so a week? Appreciated!
    Mary

• elucas101
    10 years ago

Since the plant is well established I would say just let the soil dry out in between waterings like normal. Keep it in the most sun you can give it unless you see signs of sunburn. Congrats on your new plant, it's awesome to get one that mature! Please keep us updated!

• mbb5815
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you so much for your advise. I will sure keep you posted.

• mbb5815
    Original Author
    10 years ago