Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tropicgal_gw

Is this branch rotting?

tropicgal
10 years ago

I planted a rooted cutting last October. Over the winter, two of the four branches rotted at the ends, so I cut back to a healthy spot. They rotted more, and I kept cutting back until I got to the stem (now I learned that I should have used a fungicide on the cuts).

Now a third branch is mushy near the base (where my hand is touching), but the end is green and firm, and red claws seem to be growing. The other remaining branch is firm and growing new red claws.

So... Do I keep it as is and hope it recovers, and that the rot doesn't spread and kill the tree? Or do I cut off the healthy branch and try to root it (which I've never done before), and maybe cut off at the top of the main stem?

This post was edited by tropicgal on Mon, May 20, 13 at 17:33

Comments (16)

• honeybunny2 Fox
    10 years ago

Cut it back to where it is white, and spray with peroxide. Information I got from Franks wife in Corpus. Barbra

• tropicgal
    Original Author
    10 years ago

But the end is strong and growing. Does this mean that the mushiness is not root rot and that it could recover?

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    10 years ago

To me it depends on the softness. Sometimes plants can be soft along the stem, but really just need hydration. They swell and harden once roots begin to take in moisture. Other times it really is rot that has set in. Upper part will eventually collapse if that happens.

I would have no way to tell for sure in your case. Did you try to prick it with a pin to see if it is still bleeding white sap from that area?

This post was edited by dave_in_nova on Mon, May 20, 13 at 13:53

• elucas101
    10 years ago