Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cyclonenat

Overwintering Frangipani

cyclonenat
11 years ago

Hi im Natalie from New Zealand winter is just starting here, i have 2 young plants and 4 seedlings grown this summer i was wondering if the seedlings will survive the winter, should i water them over the winter?any info will be great thanks

Comments (10)

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    11 years ago

i have no experience with seedlings yet, mine have just germinated so Ill be interested to see what advice you get. I would say that it probably depends on how old and how big they are when it comes time to overwinter as to what you would need to do.

Mike

• Andrew Scott
    11 years ago

Hi Natalie,
    I have seedlings that I have over wintered for 2 years now. I put mine in a cool basement window and I didn't water at all. The largest seedling is about a foot tall.

I would be carefull with watering over the winter. Unless you have the heat and sun light that they need to grow, you may lose those seedlings to rot.

Good luck,
    Andrew

• redmaple_7b
    11 years ago

I've also had luck with putting seedlings in a window, I have several that are three years old now. Each winter I've brought them inside near a sunny window, they've gone dormant and haven't needed water pretty much all winter. Hope yours do good too.
    Trevor

• cyclonenat
    Original Author
    11 years ago

ok thanks everyone they are in the laundry so might get a bit of humidity from the dryer will that affect them

• jandey1
    11 years ago

Hi Natalie and welcome to the forum! Seedlings shouldn't go dormant that first winter. I've always kept mine in a sunny window or under grow lights. The first winter none went dormant and the second winter about a third dropped their leaves while the others kept going, especially those under lights. Just cut back on the watering depending on how active the plants seem to be.