Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happyvegan_gw

What are the rarest Plumeria?

happyvegan
10 years ago

I am new to Plumerias. I have been around them all my life in south Florida, but never grew one myself. So I started doing some research about them. Yet, nowhere could I find a place that explained why some Plumeria were considered rare and others were not. Is it the color combinations? Is it that they are not hybrids? I was checking out Ebay for Plumeria seeds and cuttings. I saw lots that said they were rare, but were not commanding a high price or getting loads of bids. Some gorgeous ones in Thailand, swoon! So, I come to the place I know there is true knowledge of Plumeria, for answers, "The GardenWeb!" :-)

I appreciate any information you can give me along with some tips of starting from seeds. (I love seeds)

Cheers!!

Comments (81)

• Kimo
    10 years ago

Laura,
    Gorgeous!!! Was that this yrs or last yrs pics? As for Metallica, she is still rare as you can not readily buy her from most places, JL and a few cuttings/plants being sold by individuals who bought her early on. Metallica is truly one of the most beautiful of the purples in my opinion, coming in 2nd on my list based on colors, size, scent etc., Violet Queen is my 3rd fav purple, but the most RARE and BEAUTIFUL is Kukiats Tropical Aurora

My Fav purple and ultra rare as Kukiat may have gifted a few close intimate plumie friends with a cutting or plant but will not sell any. I contacted Kukiat and basically told him to name any price he wanted for Tropical Aurora and Id pay it and he said no, that maybe eventually he would consider selling some later on but not now. So sad... :( But I give Kukiat major Kudos for integrity !!!

Oh and Kukiats Marble Ice Cream is another stunner and not available.:

Thanks for the show Laura :)

This post was edited by freak4plumeria on Fri, Jun 21, 13 at 2:26

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    10 years ago

James.. STUNNING!!!!