Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tyler_rose_gw

Plumeria Repot question

tyler_rose
17 years ago

Hello

I'm new to the Plumeria Forum since I spend most of my forum time reading rose stuff.

BUT, I am the proud owner of a beautiful plumeria that grew from a "potted stick" that my dear friend gave me several years ago. (a couple of years ago, DH and I renewed our wedding vows in Hana and my wedding flowers were Plumeria; that trip really ruined me!)

Here's my questions - please help!

Since my Plumeria is now tall, branching and blooming, I am afraid that it has outgrown its pot. Is it ok to repot it??? I don't know if Plumeria is picky about having roots disturbed.

Thanx for your advice. This Plumeria is kinda like a member of our family, so I want to keep it healthy and happy. Jan

Comments (21)

• plumeria_bill
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If it isn't broken don't fix it. I would wait till spring. If it is top heavy sit it in a larger pot with sand between the two pots.

• tdogdad
    17 years ago

Plumeria_bill is correct. You can transplant plumerias almost anytime and generally they are not easily disturbed, however when they are flowering they have a higher chance of shutting down the flowers until they adjust which usually means until next year. Plumerias can live in very small pots for several years. You can also put a same sized pot into the ground and drop your pot into it so the wind can't blow over your pot, or just bury your pot in the ground. I often put my small pots in between larger pots which hold them up until I get around to transplanting them. I like bills idea of the larger pot because you could use sand or rock or a combination to modify the heat. In the desert this might be too hot but most everywhere else it would work.

• tdogdad
    17 years ago

Here is a picture of large and small pots of young plumies grouped together to withstand the wind and placed on rock to increase bottom heat.
    {{gwi:1171055}}

• jeffsan73