Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Buds on inflow falling off

Posted by spiroan none (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 21, 12 at 8:48

Hi Everyone,

I am new to growing plumerias. Last fall, I had a coworker give me about 20 plants. So, this spring has been a learning experience for sure. I had one of them form an inflow almost as soon as it woke up from dormancy. However, it was a really weak one from what I can tell. I got maybe 3 or 4 flowers from it. Several of the buds on it basically turned black and fell off, and a couple of the flowers were in the process of opening and fell off. So, my question is, "Is this something that I am doing wrong, or does this just happen sometimes?" This was clearly the first time this plant has bloomed, as it had no hint of branches until this year, but it seemed like an awfully weak inflow. I've got two other ones now with inflows. One looks like it could be a really good one. The other one looks weak like the first one. So, if I'm doing something wrong, maybe I can fix it before the new inflows bloom.

Oh, and I'm in the north DFW area (Little Elm to be exact), so I would love to hear from other plumeria growers in this area.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Buds on inflow falling off

This is not uncommon with young plants. When you see people around here with beautiful blooming inflos on newly-rooted cuttings those cuttings were always taken from big, mature trees in Florida or Hawaii (usually) that had the makings of a good inflo growing in the tip before the cutting was ever taken.

Don't worry about the weak one. The plant should grow more mature, especially with good Texas sun and heat, and give better inflos next year or maybe the year after when it gets some size. I'm looking at a cutting I rooted last spring, that's tripled in height in that time, that's putting out a surprise tiny inflo here in Austin. Looks like if I'm lucky there'll be one bud, lol. Good luck with your others and welcome to the forum!

o