Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
funinthesunincl

Top 5 Plumeria-For Clear Lake (S. of Houston) Area???

funinthesunincl
15 years ago

Plummie Experts: I am new to the world of plumeria & would like to know: What would be your top 5 picks of plumeria for a person living in Clear Lake (South of Houston)???? My backyard is west facing and would have full sun/heat all day long. I would like to place an order with Maui Gardens but a friend told me he didn't have any luck with plumeria from Hawaii. What would you suggest & please let me know--- :)

I live in the Brookwood neighborhood and heard there is a major plumeria person living in my neighborhood. Does this person sell plants/cuttings???? Please let me know--I would rather support a local plumeria person.

I REALLY wanted to go to the local Plumeria Show/Sale on NASA RD. 1 but was out of town last weekend. :(

Thanks in advance for your suggestions of your top five !!!

Comments (13)

• sotexas
    15 years ago

There are some very good nurseries in Houston that carry plumies. As we are moving, and I have gone through cleaning up my links, I no longer have them but if you check out the Houston Chronicle online/life section/gardening, have a look through there/do a search on their site. They also report upcoming events which sometimes include plumie sales in the area. Alternatively do a web search - I use www.excite.com which I have found gives a better return.
    I am a couple of hours east of you and have plumies in pots sunk in holes in the ground. Being rural, we get a lot of wind; needed to build a 6ft windbreak which we tie the trunks/branches to. The plumies are well above the 6ft mark now so anything that should break we can't do much about! Darn, I have a book here somewhere called
    Gardening in Houston which has an excellent section on plumies in Houston! If your are receiving emails [mine is not blocked] and can email me back, please do so! In the meantime, I will look for the book...

• trojanfan53