Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dourbest

Should I chop it off?

dourbest
10 years ago

These are 1 year old seedlings that I think are getting too leggy (18 inches from soil line)...see other pic...

Comments (10)

• dourbest
    Original Author
    10 years ago

These are also 1 year old seedlings (12 inches) but they already have grown out branches. As a beginner I think that is what I would want right? Chop off the top to encourage more branches? Or should I just let them do their own thing?

• dourbest
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here are two other 7 inch 1 yr old seedlings that have also branched out. Also, I have been feeding them the miracle gro bloom buster diluted to more than 50 percent. Is that okay for them?

Sorry, last question. I have a very skinny cutting. Do cuttings stay the same width as when they were cut or do they eventually get thicker? I have had this for a few years now and it still looks the same, just a little taller (not in picture).

Thank you.

• dourbest
    Original Author
    10 years ago

This is one of the plumerias in the first picture. Over the winter it developed a black tip and is now forming new branches. That is, I hope they are new branches. This plumeria got me thinking, if it is going to take 3 years to bloom from a seed to create more branches, should I just take a short cut and chop the top off now? Please let me know your opinion or pros and cons. Thank you.

There are 3 plumerias that are 18 inches tall that I was planning on cutting.

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    10 years ago

Hi!!!

I was just looking thru the forum and wanted to try and help you...

Hopefully , others will add their two cents too! ;-)