Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
disneyhorse

How unfurled do leaves have to get before watering?

disneyhorse
10 years ago

So I've got my little plumeria "nursery" going and it's a mishmash of seedlings, cuttings, and newly-shipped-rooted plants. I've been watering the little seedlings and rooted plants once a week and they seem happy. But I'm really unsure about the cuttings.
I see why people like to bag root or use a clear container to see ... But I'm a dumb newbie and used gallon pots :/
Some of them have only been planted for two or three weeks but really look like they are trying to wake up and send up leaves where there were just tight claws ( the green leafy tip in the photo is a baaaaarely rooted plant shipped bareroot so I know that one has roots) but I know it can take months to root sometimes.
Are leaves truly a sign of simultaneous rooting? I'm resisting the urge to water, I don't want to kill this nice variety of cuttings although I've resigned myself to the fact that some may perish :(

Comments (7)

• maark23 TX/8a
    10 years ago

Hey Disney! I'm with you on the same boat, I wish I would have used plastic water bottles so I can see if there's any roots growing. :S But from what I've learned you water when your cuttings have there first set of true leaves. I am not sure about that though but I'm sure there will be more advice.

Mark

• Kimo
    10 years ago