Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haku_gw

Suggestions on starting a new plant

haku
17 years ago

Aloha!

I am not sure what is the right thing to do when starting a new Plumeria tree from the cuttings off the tree.

I have seen it do well by putting it in water for a few days then transfer to a pot with soil and grow. I've also now read that you are supposed to cut it and let it sit for a few days then put it in pot or ground. Little confused on what is the best way.

I would like to just start it in the pot at first, but not sure what is the right way since this is my first time doing it myself.

Thank you so much for helping and I await to hear suggestions.

Haku

Comments (5)

• shiollie
    17 years ago

This site should help quite a bit.

Here is a link that might be useful: Plumeria 101

• mikeod
    17 years ago

Haku,
    I would not put it in water for a few days. In Hawaii, all you should need to do is put it in a dark place for a few days to let the cut end callous over, then plant it in fast draining soil either in a pot or in the ground, water it well once, then wait for the leaves to appear. When it has 4-5 true leaves, it is OK to begin fertilizing with half strength dose. The plant should take off. You have the perfect climate for plumeria there, as I expect you already know.
    Mike

• tdogdad
    17 years ago