Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loveplummies

Fertilizer

loveplummies
12 years ago

I am a newbie and I live south of Tampa zone 9. I have read about not fertilizing after September because of the approaching change of seasons. Since it is mostly sunny and warm temperatures most of the winter (except for brief periods in the winter) would these fertilizing rules apply to this area as well?

Also, I know this is a silly question but I really am new to this. To encourage my Plumeria to grow more short and bushy with lots of flowers how do I do the pruning? I do not understand where and how I am supposed to trim my plummie!

Thank you in advance for any information.

Miguel

Comments (5)

• loveplummies
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I have found the answers to my questions from a number of sources. Thanks to all who took the time to read my post.

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    12 years ago

Hello Loveplummies,

You sure did get your answers quick!!! LOL all on the same day!! Way to go!! You must have been doing alot of reading and searching on line.

I do stop fertilizing around the end of September, only because i have to get them prepared for the winter. So after Sept. i dont encourage any more growth. I want them to settle down to get them ready for the pruning that comes annually. I give them the trim of the leaves in Late Oct. or sometime in Nov. depending on the weather. Then they go into my house bare naked and rest for the winter. You are lucky that you can keep them active all year.

Hope this helps!!!

If you still have questions, please dont hesitate to ask here on this forum...sometimes it takes awhile to get a response.

Like me, i work all different hours, and many here do asa well.

So we all get here and check in at different times.

I dont want you to think that we are not reading your post, because we are!!!

Lots of great people here and many wonderful experts around the country to cheer you on!!