Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
minihamsters

Rooting a cutting

MiniHamsters
10 years ago

Hello! I'm new to plumerias and this forum. I just bought a cutting, but I'm not sure how to root it, the owner said to let it dry for a couple days and then pot it. Should I do this or should I use rooting hormone? Thanks!

Here's a picture.

Comments (13)

• honeybunny2 Fox
    10 years ago

There is so much knowledge on this on this forum, but the Texas 101 would be to remove the leaves and the bloom. Let the cutting callus over. Dip in water then dip in root hormone. Pot in a potting mix 4 inches deep( cheapest )1/3 miracle grow, 2/3 perlite) water once. Put outside on the hot sidewalk. Best if it gets hot sun in the morning and in the late afternoon gets dapple sun. DO NOT WATER, and make sure the rain doesn't get to it. Once you see claws, then you can spray water on just the stem, do not water the soil mixture, or the plant will rot. Once you see full sets of leaves then you can water the plant and repot in another potting mixture for plumeria plants. If you are planning on growing plumeria and getting more cuttings, then you might invest in making the gritty mix for rooting cuttings. Barbra

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    10 years ago

honeybunny gave great advice.

It looks like a Hilo Beauty.

• citizen_insane
    10 years ago

I agree with Dave, that looks like a HILO BEAUTY. That s very difficult to root. It can take longer than 6 months. I would pay somebody to graft it for me if I was you. Dark reds do better grafted.

George

• plumejunkie
    10 years ago

I HIGHLY suggest people start experimenting with a combination of: aloe - fresh gel from a fillet if you can get it (at least 2 table spoons), you can use powdered aloe if needed....fulvic acid, potassium silicate (agisil 16 is the best), b1, and blackstrap molasses.