Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shirahime_gw

...am I doing it right? Invitation for constructive critiques

ShiraHime
10 years ago

I am Very new to Plumerias. I purchased 2 small potted plants in February ( I don't even remember what type YIKES)
I immediately repotted them (or potted up) I used the egg method on both they did...well I believe (I guess)

They began producing leaves and new growth.
I BELIEVE I had a slight incident with black tip fungus and I pruned away the affected area on my shorter plant. It has since resolved (at least I think)

My taller plant has grown VERY quickly. It was affected by some yellowing and leaves falling off. I immediately adjusted the watering schedule and got them some out door time, well then it grew MORE. I watched it sway in a very slight wind. That scared me into repotting it.
Today I potted up again and noticed that the bottom of my 1 gallon pot was still quite moist despite the top of the soil seeming dry (point noted) When I repotted I bought peat most perlite and orchid mix (to improve drainage... at least I hope)
As I did when I potted up the first time I used the raw egg method. I also included the nasty shell from the first repotting.
Here are some stats for me
Small potted plants arrived in late February
They immediately came out of dormancy
I planted each in a 1 gallon pot
I live in Pa
I have been using miracle grow rose food (but only very recently)
I have no clue what type of plumerias I have

Here are my concerns.
my newest choice in soil... (miracle grow cactus mix for my smaller plant and a miz of the cactus mix-perlite-peat moss-and orchid mix for my second plant)
The egg method, I included... more than one in my recent potting up. Any comments on the eggs method at all?
My second plant is tall but very thin. It is no longer having yellowing issues

references. I have included a picture from when they were first repotted in Feb.
Plant 1 is in the orange
Plant 2 is in the white.