Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kdb319

Will Sevin bug spray harm plumerias?

Since I'm a newbie an I don't want to kill or mess up my plumerias, I wanted to ask for before I proceed with using this product. I have a bug spray, Sevin, which it kills just about every bug in the book. What I was wondering is, can I spray it on my plumeria to kill ants? Or will it hurt the plumeria? I have used it on my hibiscus bushes in the past, which it works. Or do you recommend a different product to use to kill / get rid of ants?

Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

Comments (13)

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    11 years ago

Hi KIm,

I have never heard of anyone usuing Sevin on Plumerias.. I would read on the back of the package annd see what it suggest. My brother uses it on his Gardenias with great success, but i would be cautious on my trees....

Hopefully someone will chime in and give you more info!!!

Good Luck!!

Laura

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    11 years ago

I seem to recall that while Sevin will kill some bugs, it will also kill the beneficials which, for example, help keep spider mites in check. I remember using it one year only to be bombarded by another pest (possibly mites?) which now had no enemies. I would not recommend Sevin.

For ants, you might consider ant granules on the soil.

• elucas101
    11 years ago

I would agree that if you have to treat for the ants, do it outside of the pot and with granules because no matter where they are nesting it will kill them because they will carry back the granules. Otherwise it's only a "spot treat" if you will. The granules will get the entire colony.

• beachplant
    11 years ago

and sevin kills everything. I use no pesticides at all, except for fire ant killer! Have yet to find out how to kill them without pesticides. Stick with pyrethroids/pyrethrins if you must use pesticides or even better soap.