Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plumeria_norway

Plumeria winter storage help

Plumeria_Norway
9 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to the plumeria plant.
I bought some seeds when I was on Bali. I planted the seeds in late June, and saw the first seedlings growing in early July.

I've read on several webpages that some people store them in a dark place during the winter, while others keep them in inside during the whole year.

I have kept mine outside during the summer, but I brought them inside once it started raining too much. I will keep them inside during the fall.

The plants are placed next to a window where they get sun from 6.am until 5.pm.

Should I store them when winter arrives or could I let them stay where they are, year-round?

I have limited experience with plants that needs more care than just watering, so I would prefer to not store them. But I am afraid that they will not receive enough sun during the winter. It rains a lot over here and the sun is quite shy.

In winter, the sun goes down around 4.pm during the shortest days, but during the summer it stays bright until 11.pm on the longest days. Thus, maybe the drastic change between summer and winter calls for winter storage? I live in the southwest of Norway at the coast.

Thanks alot.

Comments (6)

• Pondplant_kid
    9 years ago

When winter comes around they will loose all of their leaves and go dormant. Plumerias are deciduous. Once dormant they no longer need light or water. Only a little drink of water every month or so to keep the roots from drying up. Be careful when watering because they do not use the water when dormant, so they can rot easily. Just keep them above 40 degrees farenheight and they should be fine. I would still put them in the window, so once they come out of dormancy they will have light, but be careful of drafts and cold air coming through the seams of the window. The cool air might freeze the plant, thus killing it. Hope this helps

Josh

• PRO
    the_first_kms2
    9 years ago