Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mksmth_zone_6b

Patience running low.

Ok I dont know if Im ranting, venting, asking, or just what.

This is my first try at cuttings. Long story short. I bought 3 cutting from Exotic Plumeria back in June. Purchased on site and brought home. Scott Pratt, Celadine, Puu'Kahea(now gone to rot).

all where dipped in rooting hormone put in clear bottles with a well draing mix on 6-24-12 and put into full sun, shaded during the really hot days. Scott pratt has since put out a few new small leaves but neither it nor Celadine have any roots that I can see. Bottles are in a Nursery pot in full sun to help get them warm. My temps are running in the low to mid 90's and mid to high 60's at night. On really hot days or when they look extra wrinkly Ill mist them a bit.

I know everyone says to be patient especially the Reds but I though for sure Celadine would have done something by now. This sunday will be 10 weeks :(

Ive told myself I will never buy cuttings again and just pay extra for rooted plants. I figure 10, 15, 20 extra bucks is worth not waiting.

How do you all do it so easily.

Mike

Comments (47)

• No-Clue
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Mike,

Sheesh I could have written that post!! So I feel your pain. I don't know how or why people are able to root so easily while I can't get even one to take. So I don't have any answers for you per se, but I sure can understand your frustration! Thus far I killed 5 already. 4 are not doing anything since June. I am so tempted to take them out to see what in the world is going on under there. So for me I would rather just pay a little more and get a rooted plants than go through this agony!

I saw Tom's Plumerias cuttings at Armstrong but I did not buy any for I still don't know how to root! :(

• Robert (zone 7a, Oklahoma)
    11 years ago

Mike,