Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrpearson253

No Blooms on My Plumeria :(

mrpearson253
17 years ago

I've had my plumeria several months (boy I'm not even a NOVICE on this forum...I've only got ONE plant!!!). I got it in spring and watered it diligently. It's still in its pot and gets great drainage so its never sitting in mucky soil. Great leaves, but no blooms. It claims to be a variety called "Heaven," anyone have pictures of that so I know what they will eventually look like?

I've tried the Bloom Buster type stuff from Home Depot (high phosphorus, I believe) to increase blooming, but it seems to have little effect. This has been a very warm summer for us here in Southern California...could that have anything to do with it?

Sorry for all the questions...total newbie, I know! Thanks for any information you can provide!!!

Comments (36)

• plumeriastix
    17 years ago

Hi,

I am a newbie here as well and I think I have learned a very important thing here. It's called patience and careful how you water especially if it's not rooted! Unfortunately I don't think anyone will be able to tell you when it's going to bloom, but I got a big surprise the other day. After not looking at about 12 of my plants for 3 days I went out and "surprise" new inflo (the thing the flowers come out of) on one of my plants. Maybe yours will do the same thing as I am also in So. Cal.
    Someone will come along soon I'm sure to give you much better info! Welcome to "here" everyone is super nice!

Happy growing,
    Jerri : )

• new_mexico_shane
    17 years ago

mrpearson253:

Welcome to the forum. I am a newbie as well (4 cuttings only - just starting to try and root them). So I can't help with your question, but as Jerri noted in her resonse, I have gotten some very good help from the more experienced growers in the group. Hang in there and good luck!

Shane

• kbauman
    17 years ago

Hi Mrpearson,