Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
printmaster1

OT - Where were you 9/11?

I was on an American Airlines flight from Dallas to Denver the morning of 9/11. The passengers had no idea what was going on in the world that morning.
My wife was freaking out, as she heard that an AA flight from Dallas was going to be shot down. Luckily it wasn't shot down.

Lonnie

Comments (15)

• blooms4me2
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I was @ work, it's my Birthday on 9/11 and we were laughing and joking around I went to my boss's office he had the TV on but not looking at it and the sound was down, I Saw on TV something was going on,, I turned the TV up and all laughter stopped, We all gathered in his office and watched the second plane go into the towers . We all held each others hands and bowed our heads in Prayer.. My Birthday from that day forward took on a whole different meaning for me :(

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    10 years ago

Blooms, Happy Birthday.

I am an electrician and back then I was just an apprentice. We were working on a Waste water treatment facility in Jay Oklahoma. The work was pretty dirty so none of us had our phones or watches on to tell the time. The only way we knew the time was to go to our truck and turn the AM radio on to the local news. In construction you kind of have a knack for knowing when its break time and that morning was no different. I went to the truck to see, or hear what time it was only to hear the news of the attack. At first I thought it was odd but not alarming. Right after is when all the trades caught the news of the second attack. The whole job site shut down and we all gathered around the radio and listened.

Mike

This post was edited by mksmth on Wed, Sep 11, 13 at 10:22

• Minderella
    10 years ago

I was watching GMA and getting ready to get my nails done. I will never forget that, saw it all. From first plane on

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    10 years ago