Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenclaws

Grow light....what do I need to get please?

Hi, after 'talking' with some of you about my Desert Roses, one of which has a few buds, I'm looking into the idea of getting a grow light to help them through the winter months as I'm aware that some of you use these. Could you tell me what I need to look for please as I've no experience with them at all?

Thanks again for your help, Gill.

Comments (15)

• meyermike_1micha
    14 years ago

Hi Gill....

After being here for so long, would you believe that I just found out there is a forums on the site that discusses this..

Look under.....Growing under lights...

Hopefully you'll get alot of help there. I didn't, but maybe your question is easier than mine was..

I never used grow lights on mine. I always just stuck them in full sun, even in the winter, and they did just fine..A window sill is perfect..

Let me know if growing under a growlight does well, will ya.
    There are two types...One for blooming and one for vegetative growth..

The "sodium" halide for blooming, and the "metal" halide for green, or vegatative growth..

Buy at least 350 watts or more, and make sure this particular plant is at least 3 feet or closer to the bulbs..That is what I had to do for my tropicals and plumies to grow fast and well..
    I assume that a desert plant needs more intense light than them, who knows?
    It will be interesting to see what response you get, since I may have to start doing the same with mine...

Goodluck..:-)

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Mike, thanks for the reply. Well what d'ya know? Never occured to me either that there was a dedicated grow light forum either!