Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mjhuntingtonbeach

Arrrgghh.... life is cruel, heavy branches break

mjhuntingtonbeach
10 years ago

I came home today and found massive branch off my pride and joy cracked off, gravity being a cruel fiend to my tree.

I have two plumerias I could try and use for rootstock, or I could try and root what is essentially a good sized tree in and of itself, although only a fraction of the whole tree, or I could get quite a number of good sized cuttings from this beast, at least 8 or 9.

Any thoughts? I have ZERO experience rooting, it is late in the season for rooting I would imagine.

Comments (53)

• mjhuntingtonbeach
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I meant to say earlier I have ZERO experience grafting, not rooting.

Sorry, I guess I'm a bit upset.

• Kimo
    10 years ago

Hey MJ,
    A cutting that large and healthy, even this late in the season, will make it. Id let it dry out for a bit then plant it up with a solid stake or tied up to a pole somewhere. You should have no problems, but cut off the leaves and inflos as they will utilize the energy that could be used for rooting.

The other suggestion is cut it up and sell the cuttings as I believe Typhoon is no long available as the mother tree was destroyed in Thailand, so if I remember correctly this is a rare one no longer in circulation.

My condolences and congrats on all the new babies..

Cheers

This post was edited by freak4plumeria on Fri, Sep 6, 13 at 15:21

• nativec
    10 years ago

Mike, I feel horrible for you! I think if that were my lovely Typhoon I would take Freaks first suggestion and try to root the whole thing. It may just be me but I couldn't imagine cutting up one so special. Let us know what you decide. Can you post a pick of what remains of your mother tree?

My best to you...

Nicole

• mjhuntingtonbeach
    Original Author
    10 years ago