Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
citizen_insane

Tips on taking pictures of plumeria flowers

citizen_insane
10 years ago

L.m.Ohara posted on Facebook the following two pictures today. In the first picture, the Wildfire flower appears red and the bowl has a deep yellow color.

In the second picture the Wildfire flowers appear purple and the bowl has a much lighter yellow color.

It appears that Linda took these pictures at the same time, at the same place, with the same camera, because the Wildfire flower in the upper right corner of the picture is the same in both pictures. Why then does the camera rendered the colors so differently in the two pictures? There is no physical reason they should be different.

If you recall Karen Babb posted recently in Plumeria Addicts about how she can get more realistic colors of a Kaneohe Sunburst flower by using a white paper behind the flower. The exact same effect is happening in both cases.

I am an expert in photography and have been developing and printing color pictures for more than 30 years.The reason for it is complicated and I am going to try to explain it as simply as I can.The camera corrects the colors so they appear natural, by what is called the white balance. I used to use a color analyzer to determine the correction to the color (amount and direction) in printing color pictures. Both the old color analyzer and modern cameras are based on the same principle. It was determined a long time ago by Eastman Kodak that if you blend all the colors in an average picture you get 18% gray. As a result, the calibration of the color balance is based on the assumption of 18% grey for each picture. Now when you have red flowers against a yellow bowl, if you blend the colors, you clearly do not get 18% grey. The same is true if you take pictures of plumeria flowers against any other solid color. This throws off the white balance and you get a tint in the pictures that affects both the flower and the background.