Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rwalleytx

Plumerias in rainy weather?

Richard
11 years ago

Im a newB with plumerias with some questions. They might be stupid but I wanted to find out anyways.

1. Towards the end of the growing season and my plants are still outside til the weather gets cooler but I was wondering when it rains say for days in a row what do you guys do with your plumerias?? I hear its bad to overwater so what happens in situations where you get a full day of rain or more? I understand you should have good draining soil but are there any risks for root rot with too much rain?

2. I see so many names people give these plumerias some official some not but I have seen so many identical plumerias with different names also I have seen dramatic color changes just from different stages of the flowers growth and even temperature. How can I be sure Im not buying the same plant just with a different name or may just look different due to these conditions?

3. SOIL ...the main thing that will help make your plumeria grow and stay healthy. I have seen so many crazy mixes and formulas and fertilizers and additives. Do plumerias know the difference between these and just plain ol well draining potting soil in a bag. I have asked a few of the old skool plumeria growers that have been doing this for years that dont even know what all that jibber jabber even means haha and say just do regular well drain potting soil from home depot or lowes or a dirt yard. Should i keep it simple or will I gain better growth and health from my plants with these new methods or is it hype?

Im so glad there is a place to learn about plumerias otherwise I would have probably killed them all by now. Thanks in advance!

Comments (42)

• moonie_57 (8 NC)
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Walley! I'm fairly new to plumerias too but here's my 2 cents worth.