Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mango88_gw

Plumeria in Canada

Mango88
11 years ago

Hi there,

This is my first time growing plumeria. I bought 3 plumeria cuttings from Canada Bloom March 2011(Toronto). So far all 3 are doing well and lots of leaves. There is 1 plumeria cutting is thriving very well and sign of flowering soon as there's "inflow"? My question is should I continue to water even through winter and let it grow instead of letting it go dormant? Right now all 3 plants is sitting on my balcony and gets lots of sun since it's facing south. See attached for the plant that shows inflow. It's only 1 1/2 year since I bought the cutting. I hope to see the flower soon and would be sad if the leaves and "inflow" drop when I bring it indoor. Please let me know what I should do to over winter them.

Thanks,

Mango88

Comments (17)

• moonie_57 (8 NC)
    11 years ago

HI Mango. That is a really nice inflorescence you have there!

The standard answer to plumeria and dormancy is that they will go into dormancy themselves and -need- to rest in order to produce flowers next year. But, I recently read that is not necessarily true.. at least for experienced plumeria growers.

Many people on this forum have had their plumerias go dormant with inflo's that hold until spring and then begin to grow again and flower.

• Robert (zone 7a, Oklahoma)
    11 years ago

How exciting! Congratulations! Do you know the cultivar's name that is about to flower? I hope you can keep it going long enough to enjoy the flowers. :)

-Robert

• beachplant
    11 years ago

I am impressed! Canada is not the easiest place to grow tropicals for sure but you are doing a great job.
    Tally HO!

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    11 years ago

A high-intensity discharge lamp with metal hallide bulb (1,000 watts) set to 12 hours might be overkill, but it would likely keep that plant growing and blooming. There are other lighting schemes as well.

• PRO
    the_first_kms2
    11 years ago