Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to care for Plumeria in winter

Posted by fsfranke z6 MO (My Page) on
Tue, Sep 27, 05 at 22:49

I'm brand new in the hobby of Plumeria trees. What do you do for the winter? I lost 2 plants last year but bot 4 more and this summer they have done great outside in pots. The fall and winter are too cold and I must bring them in to my basement. Also,they need to be repotted.

Questions:
Do I repot before the winter?
How do you care for them in the winter?
What size pot should I use for a plant that is about 1 1/2 feet tall?
do I need to use a Grow light?
Let me know soon because I have to bring them in real soon.

Thank you in advance,
Frank

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to care for Plumeria in winter

Frank,
I would wait and repot them when they awaken next spring. For the winter, I would bring them in when the night temps dip into the 40s. Let the soil dry and the leaves will fall off. This is normal. The plumeria can be left in their pots over the winter. Some water them very little, others not at all. Keep them in the dark and keep them from cold/freezing temps. Some remove them from the pots entirely, shake off most of the soil and wrap the roots in newspaper. Then store them by hanging them up or in a closet or stand them in a container. Don't let the roots touch cold ground. When the weather warms up, bring them out again, repot, and let them awaken. Don't water much until the tips show signs of life and new leaves. Check out plumeria101.com for additional info.

Mike

o

Frank... check out some of my posts. Northern Plumi updates. How big are the pots. I NEVER let mine go dormant, and just let them grow naturally in my kitchen and these are 5-6 foot trees. I've got a degree in Trop Ag/Horticulture from the University of Hawaii... and I never really fuss over them. Just read all my posts and you'll get alot of info.

o