Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Plumeria obtusa 'Dwarf Singapore Pink' over-winter in north

Posted by jackied164 z6 MA (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 4, 09 at 23:37

Does anyone know if this plumeria that I bought from Logee's this spring can be forced into dormancy to over-winter here in the north? It is a nice little plant that has been flowering very nicely for me in the first year. I kept it inside by my sunniest window until putting it out in early July and it developed its inflorescence. I could put it back here but would rather try the dormancy route.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Plumeria obtusa 'Dwarf Singapore Pink' over-winter in north

I am pretty new to growing plumeria, but I do know that any Singapores cant be forced into dormancy, the only thing that I do know is that it will probobly kill it. If I were you, I would keep it in front of your sunniest window, that way you wont have to worry about it dying and it will grow larger and bloom more!

o

Last year was my first overwintering my plumerias and I had 1 dwarf singapore and another unnamed plumeria. I didnt really have good light in my apt, so I was planning on letting it go dormant. As soon as it got to freezing outside, I brought them in for good and let them alone, didn't water and just let them be. Around february, I did have to defoliate the plant, because I was worried that it had gotten a fungus, but come summer it woke up and didnt seem fazed. In my experience, it isnt too hard to overwinter and let them go dormant, and it works to leave the leaves on or defoliate. Cutting the leaves off does cut down on bugs/possible fungusnes, but as andrew said, it will definitely have a head start in the spring if you are able to leave the leaves on. Good luck!

o