Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need Advice On Starting Cuttings

Posted by alameda 8 - East Texas (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 12, 10 at 1:59

Due to 2 knee surgeries in early spring, I wasnt able to attend to the plants in my greenhouse and I figured that they died. Today I looked inside - and my plumeria had green leaves on 2 branches. It looked like the majority of the plant was dead, as the stem was dried and dead inside, so I made cutting out of the 2 live wood parts with leaves. I have air dried all afternoon. Now, need help with starting these cuttings. Do I soak in water? Plant? Any suggestions appreciated!
Judith

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need Advice On Starting Cuttings

Hi Judith,

Amazing that you still had green branches when the main trunk was dead!

I'm not very experienced with rooting, and I'm sure someone will come in with more info, but I'll throw in my two cents from what I've gleaned off these posts.

First, I think the cuttings should be allowed to dry for at least a week, to "callus" the end that will be rooted. This seems to be pretty universally agreed-upon.

Secondly, if it's a white or yellow variety they tend to root more easily than a red or rainbow, so be prepared for anywhere from 6-12 weeks for rooting--every cutting seems to have its own mind about when it wants to root, if at all. If it is a red or rainbow, you may want to take as many additional measures possible for your best chances of success, since it is cooler now and harder to root anyway in the coming months.

After you've callused the ends, most would advise to at least dip into water, or soak the lowest 3 inches for several hours. This can be in plain water or supplemented with Superthrive or B-1 vitamin or seaweed extract to give the cutting a boost. Then dip again into a rooting hormone, or even a rooting hormone mixed with honey to help protect against fungus.