Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thom_c

hoping it's not too late...

thom_c
10 years ago

I have been growing a Musk Rainbow for 2 years, and it finally decided - in early October - in New Jersey - to put up 2 inflos! I was really excited to see them, then I realized that there probably isn't enough warm weather left to see them open. The days are in the 70's, evenings in the 50's, and if that weren't enough... we are in for a few days of grey, rainy weather.
I'd sure appreciate any advice on what to do to get to see those flowers. Should I bring it in? We haven't turned on the heat in the house yet, so there shouldn't be a big humidity difference.
Thanks in advance for your help!
Thom

Comments (13)

• rox146
    10 years ago

how about a warm sunny window or a grow light? roxanne

• pcput
    10 years ago

My noid opened it's first bloom on Christmas day last year in the house. I kept a grow light on it about 14 hours a day and it kept most of it's leaves and the inflo. The inflo was still hanging in there when I moved it back out in spring and gave me a few more blooms outside. The few blooms it had in the house looked nothing like the outside blooms but it didn't matter to me. A blooms a bloom! It might abort the inflos when you bring it in but you have nothing to loose by trying. If it were mine I would get it inside before it goes down into the 40's. I have a couple I maybe bring in soon too because they have inflos. Hope you get those blooms.
    Peg

• moonie_57 (8 NC)
    10 years ago

Gosh, I would kill to have a musk rainbow with an inflo! I'm with Peg about bringing it in and giving some supplemental lighting.

Peg, I also have some with inflos that I may bring in the house if colder weather threatens. I am going to heat the greenhouse this year but not this early. Have you found any good buys on bulbs this year?

• JeffreyJoe
    10 years ago