Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Not sure my Plummies know it's time to power down.

Posted by Lnorigb 9b/10a (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 6, 13 at 17:38

it's 92* .5 mile inland!! My plummies are in heaven and asking for watering. My U. of H. orange has 5 new claws on her; I hope they all last thru the dormant season. My white and yellows are still firing on all cylinders. JJ's Incognito has been flowering since May!! Inca Gold is still showing off, Samoan Fluff too.
All, but an unrooted cutting of Lurline, survived the growing season! I'd say they all even thrived. I'm getting a bit nervous about keeping them all alive thru their dormant season. This is my first year with all my babies and I'm feeling a bit mother hen-ish. =)
Got any tips n tricks for coastal dormancy?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Not sure my Plummies know it's time to power down.

I plan to keep all my plumeria in the ground, and dig up if there is a threat of a freeze. This is the first year my plants are large enough to bare root store. I plan to keep them in the ground, until we get a freeze warning. Then I will dig them up and store in the carport in the cardboard boxes that will be already in place. If you are close to the water, you have extra protection. My friends that live 5 miles inland had 3 freezes last year, I did not have any. I just need to be sure I am down there, so I can do this. The last freeze I had was 2-6-2010. I covered all my tropical plants with sheets and bungie cords, but forgot to turn off the sprinkler system. What an idiot! Barbra

o