Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzegarden

minimum temp for pumeria

suzegarden
18 years ago

i am new to plumerias. i bought one this spring, and it has been growing well since then. i have a greenhouse that i heat with space heaters in the winter, and usually keep the temp around 50 degrees or so. will this be too cool for the plummie to overwinter in? thanks. suzegarden

Comments (4)

• mikeod
    18 years ago

I would expect your plumeria to overwinter well in that environment. They will probably go dormant, losing all their leaves, but will perk up again in the spring.

Mike

• frangipaniaz
    18 years ago

What's the minimum temp for them to keep their leaves on??
    Brittany

• mikeod
    18 years ago

Brittany,
    It is not only temperature, it is also light. Plumeria respond to shorter days by going dormant. Most of the info I have seen suggests 16 hours of light (daylight augmented by growlights). I would suspect that keeping them at 60 with the lighting should keep the leaves. However, they may still slow their growth. Be careful of diseases that may occur in a greenhouse. Some advocate spraying for fungus regularly. Keep the air circulating.

I usually let mine go dormant, using the greenhouse just to protect them from frosts/freezes. I will keep new seedlings and newly rooted cuttings in the house under a growlight the first year. After that, they go in the greenhouse.

Mike

• scottplumerias
    18 years ago

S,
    I have been growing them in Kansas City for almost 12 years now, in greenhouses and under HID lighting. Here are some things I've learned. Take what you like and leave the rest.