Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brian951

plumeria food

Brian951
9 years ago

I live in southern California where it is fairly warm and I am new to Plumeria's so I went to my local nursery to get plant food and they handed me Vigaro multi purpose plant food. Is this right or is there something else I should getting?

Comments (11)

• astrl
    9 years ago

It's about the numbers, not the name. If you aren't familiar with fertilizers, there should be three numbers separated by dashes (e.g. 10-10-10). Typically, plumeria growers favor a higher phosphorus number such as 10-50-10, but there are differing opinions. Also, most growers do not fertilize after a certain time, such as after September, because the trees are going dormant for the winter. Just in case you didn't know...

astrl

• gidgetsocal
    9 years ago

Hi Brian, like astrl said, opinions vary, and there are so many of them! That being said, here's mine :-). I have tried many things over the years, but after reading that many on this forum used Foliage Pro, I decided to give it a try last season. This year, I have had the most plants bloom, and they are still blooming. For me, FP has given great results.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

If you're growing in the ground, anything you use w/o a soil test is a shot in the dark. One fertilizer isn't much more apt to be appropriate than another if you don't know what the starting point (what nutrient levels exist) or end goal is (how much of each nutrient you wish to end up with).