Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Nov. noID in bloom, and a Nov. surprise...

Posted by SFLGPlume 10 Broward County FL (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 6, 11 at 22:56

Hello everyone,

Thought I'd share a November bloom with you all. This noID was my second ever plumie purchase, at Home Depot, before I graduated to the cultivar big league LOL. I thought it'd be pure white, but it's actually a creamy yellow with a big yellow throat, very pretty!:
NoID2Nov11
NoID1Nov11

I also have some heliconias that are very happy now that the summer heat and the whiteflies (knock on wood mmkaay) are both gone:
November heliconias in bloom

And finally...
I could not believe my eyes when I looked at the single tip of my Scott Pratt this weekend:
ScottPrattNov11

What what?!? It's pushing an inflo now?? I don't know whether to be happy or mad! LOL
What can I expect from this, do y'all think? Will it just push out very slowly and bloom in the early spring? Or is it likely to shrivel and fall off when the leaves decide to drop? (None of my plants have started dropping leaves yet...expecting them to start soon....)

Oh, I sooo hope that I get to see these beautiful dark red flowers bloom! SP looks so amazing in pics.

Greg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Nov. noID in bloom, and a Nov. surprise...

Greg, you're in south FL so my bet would be that Scott Pratt pushes that inflo out slowly and blooms in early March. Hope so!

Whiteflies have been horrendous this year. My poor Kimo was infested while others just seemed to shake the lil nasties off, like J105. Not looking forward to a house full of fungus gnats, spider mites, and red spiders this winter on my plumies.

Jen

o

Jen,

Hope you're right about the inflo on Scott Pratt. I have snipped inflos off cuttings as they're rooting--that's not too difficult as the flowers aren't what they will be in future years--but I can't imagine watching an inflo turn black and fall off an established plant. Painful!