Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mortbella

plumeria inside w/ lights

Mortbella
18 years ago

Have put my Plumeria in the garage for winter. Would a 1000-watt light keep them growing thru the winter and early spring? All are in 15 gal tubs, 20" to 40" tall and most are flowering. Plants are from cuttings and two to three years old. Any info would help as to what work to keep them growing.

Comments (8)

• Madchemis
    18 years ago

That wattage work perfectly, but the more important thing is to keep the garage warm between 50-80 degree. If you can provide some bottom heat that would be best.

• Mortbella
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks. The air temperature never gets below 50 F on the cold nights, and there is natural light inside, but no direct sunlight of any real amount. What is a good temperature to keep the containers warmed? Would 12 hrs of supplemental light be ok? Should fertilizing and watering reduced to biweekly?

• mikeod
    18 years ago

This is my first year keeping plants going indoors. Previously I let them go dormant. From all that I have read, they will need about 16 hours of light, sunlight augmented by grow lights, or all growlight. Water and fertilizer should be reduced as the plant growth will slow down anyway. I plan on keeping the soil more dry than usual, and cutting fertilizing to about 25% of normal and emphasizing a 0-10-10 supplemented with a small amount of nitrogen since I want to encourage root growth more than leaves.

I hope others with more experience than I will chime in.
    Mike

• lindsaymargenau
    18 years ago

This is my first time posting, although I've gotten some great info from reading this board over the past few months! I bought a plumeria stalk in June and have it in an 8" pot. It had a fantastic summer, has put out about 12 leaves, and is altogether quite happy.