Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mkalis_gw

Plumeria Bonsai

mkalis
10 years ago

Hello - I'm new to Plumerias but was able to get three trees to grow from seed earlier this year and am looking forward to a good growing year in 2014. I would like to train two of the plants into bonsai. They are currently about six inches tall.

Does anyone have any suggestions or experience with training plumeria into bonsai? I have seen pictures online but I'm not sure at what point to cut the main trunk to encourage lower branches.

Thanks for any assistance you can provide!

Comments (16)

• PRO
    the_first_kms2
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Bonsai culture is certainly interesting. I had some downtime/delays on a recent trip and found a store nearby with a small Bonsai section. The lady gave me a very rudimentary lesson in broken English which I probably understood 10% and simply nodded and the remaining 90%. So with that in mind...

I would expect the difficulty in a Plumeria Bonsai is going to be in the unknown growth habits of the seedling you are using. Those seedlings may be lanky or petite or somewhere in between. I know its possible to stunt the growth as I kept 3 seedlings (used to be 5 but two have since died) in the same 1 gallon pot half full of soil for 3 years now and they aren't more than 8 or 10 inches tall where normally they would be 3-4 feet tall by now.

For what it's worth you will want to cut above a leaf node scar on the trunk and hope that it branches out from the leaf scar. You could snip the very tip and remove the top two leaves (leaving any leaves below those top two). That way the plant MAY start growing branches from those leaf nodes. I think it will be hit or miss for you on a seedling that small. Good luck with it.

• beachplant
    10 years ago