Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rox146

egg method

rox146
11 years ago

Aloha out there...just some info to pass along...I read last year about the egg rooting method and tried it on some hard to root ones...total 100% success. Now when I am rooting a cutting even at the wrong time of the year...I use the egg. Did 1 with and 1 w/o and remarkable difference between the 2.
Anyone else trying it? When I transplant a year later, the egg is empty but still a whole shell so I leave it alone. rox146

Comments (13)

• Andrew Scott
    11 years ago

I have done this for years. I do like the results. The only negative I have seen is when the darn egg breaks under the heat of my HPS light...can you say STINKY!! OMG, this makes me not want to use eggs anymore for rooting!

Andrew

• Andrew Scott
    11 years ago

Some how my message didn't get sent thru correctly. I am so sleep deprived, I probably just messed up..lol! I meant to say that I have been using the egg method for almost 3 years.

Andrew

• rox146
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I have never smelled any problem but I am on the coast in California...have tried the baggy method and the clear plastic container and do have to admit...I like this the best for me and my conditions....

• Minderella
    11 years ago

I dont get the egg method totally. Why does an egg help? Is it the shell or the yolk? Chemistry or method I am not getting.

Mindy

• rox146
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi Minderella,

There are 400-600 pores in the egg shell and the "good" vapors that leak out seem to be really good for the roots trying to go. If you google it, the long explanation is there and has been used in rooting I guess for many years. Give it a try...rox

• wrcaz
    11 years ago

Mindy,
    I saw this on the web earlier in the week. I haven't tried this method yet but it does sound interesting.

Bill

Here is a link that might be useful: egg method

• citizen_insane
    11 years ago

Bill (wrcaz),