Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rox146

what to do with cuttings at wrong time of the year....

rox146
9 years ago

I have been given cuttings at the wrong time of the year and am doing what I was told to do with them last time. A few years back, Jean Thielmann told me of the baggy with barely damp peat moss method. Then you put them in a warm dark place and forget about them. Last time it took about 3 months but what a nice surprise when I remembered where they were... :-) My sunroom is where they are this time instead of a closet as the 1 of Kauka Wilder is way too big for a closet. roxanne

Comments (15)

• rox146
    Original Author
    9 years ago

so, here is the dark room and it is very warm out there. Keep you posted in a few months. roxanne

• plumerias_lover
    9 years ago

Hi Roxanne,

My friends came back from Hawaii with five cuttings for me. I tossed two of them and did the "baggy" for the rest. It's my first time to do the baggy. I put them outside in the day time and bring them into the house at night. I didn't know that I should have put them in the dark room likes yours. I just bagged them, last Monday, with pumice mixed with perlite, peat moss, and some soil. I had no idea what I'm doing. Thanks for the information!

• rox146
    Original Author
    9 years ago

took a peek today under the dark cloth. No roots in the bag yet but the tips all look happy....

• sultry_jasmine_nights (Florida-9a-ish)
    9 years ago

Oh what a good idea! I have a few that the branches broke off of and I was thinking of rooting them up to send to my mom. I will try your method and see if it works. That way they will be ready to go for her in the spring.
    ~SJN

Last winter I had a big branch break off and I put it in the utility shed so it wouldn't freeze. It was underneath a window just propped up...no pot or anything lol. The crazy thing put up an inflo and flowered with no leaves -no roots- and no soil. LOL They are pretty tough little things.