Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Novice in Boston with Questions!!

Posted by split6kik none (My Page) on
Mon, Dec 12, 11 at 23:55

Hi everyone,
So, my roommates know my love for plumerias, and got me 3 cuttings for christmas. However, I am at a complete loss beyond this point. I live in an apartment, and clearly in Boston outdoor planting isnt really an option.

SO, my first question is do I plant them now? I know Ill be struggling to keep them in proper sun (may need a light?) and all that I will get to, but right now I am trying to figure out my first step.
I am especially nervous because I am a graduate student who will be going out of town for my winter break from next week until early January. But I have no clue if cuttings keep, and things of that nature.

Hopefully you skilled professionals, especially ones who grow indoors, can advise me. Literally any help beyond 'this is a plumeria stalk' will be beyond my abilities :)
Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Novice in Boston with Questions!!

I would put them in a cool (not cold, not hot and dry) location and wait to plant them until March. Unless you have a sophisticated set up (bottom heat, grow lights, etc) your chances of rooting during dormancy are extremely low and the chances of rot are high. Cuttings can sit for 4-5 months.

o

Hello Split6kik,

I am doing the same thing that Bill suggest.

A friend sent me some wonderful Hong Kong cuttings, Which was very nice!!! Thank you!! : )

She wanted me to root hers at the same time when i root mine.

I also have the light set up and the heat mats, but i really dont like to root during this time of the year.

The cuttings will be placed in a cool spot in my house. Then when Early March arrives, i will start them on their rooting process. The seller did send me three cuttings and i may just for an experiment, try and root one now..then root the other two in March.

We will see what happens..