Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vickster257

I need your advice about lotus ordered from a mailorder source

vickster257
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

The order I placed was for Lotus 'Penelope' and the company discontinued this item. The are recommending a similar substitute, 'Alba Grandiflora'. Have any of our members grown it or have it in your pond? As I am a novice as of last July and have only hardy waterlilies, I am looking forward to growing a lotus so want to be sure that this is one I would like to have; it is white. Also, my pond is 2 feet deep, 8 feet x 10 feet across. Will I experience any problems with the size of this lotus? Can I use any other ones as a substitute or in addition to this lotus? The pond has a 45 mil liner. How aggressive are the roots over a period of one year just so I get a feel for their overall growth pattern?

I know I've asked many questions, so many of you may be able to give me your advice? I live in NJ, zone 7a near the shore area. Thank you very much for your help. I need to respond to the company by this weekend.

Vicki

Comments (21)

• brazen
    16 years ago

Vicki,

I have a Sacred Lotus and cannot comment on the ones you are interested in, but if you wish, I can post some pictures of the root spread across the pond for one season.

I did not have it in a container so that I could observe the growth characteristics, but this season I am going to pot it. I think it was very aggressive spreading horizontally rather than vertically because it was not confined.

John

• vickster257
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for your speedy response, John. Yes, I would like to see the root spread of the lotus you mentioned. Do you also have a photo of the flower and plant? Is it a small or medium size lotus?

Thanks, Vicki

• brazen
    16 years ago

Vicki,

I am sure there are people who have a lot more experience with these than I do, so hopefully they might chime in. It seems some old posts are MIA right now.