Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mbhoneybee63_gw

Best planting baskets to use...

mbhoneybee63
13 years ago

Last year I went to our local pond store and purchased potted plants to adorn my newly built pond. Although I have given it my best shot in overwintering them (only time will tell how successful I have been) I have on order from liveaquaria several different plants. I am assuming I will need to "plant" these in some sort of container when I recieve them in April. I have no experience doing this but have researched it online. No one really gives specifics on the benefits of different types of containers. I was leaning towards the baskets that look like big strawberry baskets (kinda woven looking) but wanted opinions before purchasing them. This is a list of the plants I will be getting:Red Night Blooming Hibiscus, Variegated Water Celery,Corkscrew Rush,Ribbon Grass Strawberries and Cream,White Rush,Spider Lily. Opinions will be appreciated...Thanks, Melissa

Comments (8)

• annedickinson
    13 years ago

There are endless ways to plant. I have a corkscrew rush that has happilly lived in just a plain plastic pot for a few years. I put water lilies in an oil pan (you didn't mention water lilies but I just threw that in there). I have some plants in the plastic mesh containers. I also have floating islands that I have made (do a search on floating islands and you'll get all kinds of ideas).

There was also a pattern for making planting containers from landscaping fabric but I can't find the thread. Maybe someone else can find it.

Good luck and be sure to post pictures in the Gallery!!! We love pictures.
    Anne

• mbhoneybee63
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks pashta for the info. Last fall I found "noodles" marked down to almost nothing and have intentions of making floating pots out of them for early season shade and cover for the fish.
    I have tried posting a few pics....keeping my fingers crossed I did it right :)