Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
denise_p_gw

pond fish problems

denise_p
9 years ago

I'm new to having a pond. It was installed in early May. I'm learning as I go, which has been bumpy. A week or so after the pond was up and running, I bought 2 shubunkin fish and some water hyacynths. The fish and plants were doing well. The water got so murky and green, that I ended up buying a better filter system and decided to clean it out. The day after I did, my 2 fish were laying on their sides and by the end of the day were dead. The man I bought the fish from explained that maybe I hadn't given the fish enough time to get used to the water and "shocked" them. So I bought 2 more and tried again. It's been a month, the fish and pond are fine. Over the last few days, 3-4 birds have ended up in my pond, the water was very murky again, so I cleaned it again. I was more careful to make sure the temperature of the water was the same as the water they had been in, but have ended up with the same sideways laying, eventually dead fish.
I've read alot more and I'm convinced it was not water temp as I had been told, but maybe lack of oxygen, unbalanced ph or nitrates or something that it causing this. Any info would be greatly appreciated, because I'm heartbroken and this pond is about to be nothing more than a fancy water fountain, because I don't want to kill anything else
The pond is about 100-125 gallons, has a filter and pump. At this point, the only living thing in it is water hyacynths. Thanks!

Comments (12)

• Fori
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Do you have a water test kit?

Are you treating the water you add to remove chlorine/chloramine?

• waterbug_guy
    9 years ago

I'm a little confused, sounds like something happened between fish batch #1 and #2 since you said "I cleaned it again". Is it the pond or the filter or something else.