Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newgardenman

potager site/layout

newgardenman
14 years ago

Hi All,

Brand new to the forum, it's super! A new potager is planned for spring...since I've never done this before, I'm wondering if I need to have an absolutely level site. The area I've chosen is essentially flat, but has a very slight slope. Level the site, level the beds on the site, or go with the lay of the land? Aesthetics are kind of important since it will be on the main drive into the property. Thank you!

Comments (4)

• wirosarian_z4b_WI
    14 years ago

No, you do not need a level site, mine is not level. But I do suggest leveling the beds as it makes it a lot easier to water them & prevent erosion problems in heavy rain areas.

• lavender_lass
    14 years ago

Your new potager sounds like a great project! I hope you'll post pictures. Everyone likes before and after pictures, not only to see the dramatic change, but to insprire those of us who are fairly new to the forum :)

• nycynthias
    14 years ago

I have a similar situation to yours--a slight slope, but very visible. Ours is in our side yard, but fully visible from many of the main rooms of the house, as well as the outdoor entertaining spaces.