Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aubade

Potager Pic & Sunflower Question

aubade
15 years ago

Hi all. I am a newbie gardener who just started a little all-edible garden last spring in my 40x40 backyard. I've attached a pic- I think it is a potager, since it is veggies and flowers. This year I'm planning on expanding it a lot more- already added two new large raised beds last Saturday.

Anyhow, as you can see in the back I planted a bunch of heirloom Velvet Queen Sunflowers along the fence behind my herb garden. I loved them, and want to grow them again this year. However, I read that sunflowers really suck the soil of nutrients and it is important not to plant them in the same place two years in a row. I have such a small backyard (and a dog) so I can't figure out anywhere else to plant them.

Will it really be a problem to plant them in the same place each year if I fertilize it well? (unfortunately my compost pile isn't done yet, so I'd probably fertilize with compost tea and cottonseed meal)

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (9)

• memo3
    15 years ago