Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
herrgothic

Potager Evolution

HerrGothic
12 years ago

Hi everyone. I am new to potager gardening and have taken upon my new project with gusto. I am completely renovating my existing garden in Spokane, WA by transforming it into a very large potager. My initial inspiration came from the gardens at Villandry. I made a facebook page documenting it called "le Potager". I would very much enjoy receiving your input and suggestions.

Sean

Here is a link that might be useful: Potager on Facebook

Comments (47)

• riverfarm
    12 years ago

Looks like you're off to a good start, Le Potager! What fun!

• lavender_lass
    12 years ago

Wow! Your plans look great! Are you still doing the herb area? What about the roses?

We live southeast of Spokane, but we usually get a lot more snow and have a shorter growing season. The deer make growing roses (and veggies) a bit of a challenge, but it's been so much fun, planning and planting the kitchen garden :)

• HerrGothic
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hi Lavender Lass. My first priority is to get the big garden set up, and then get the smaller herb garden closest to the house built. We also have a small chicken area going in that will need some work. I plan on putting in lots of roses, but won't think that far into it until I can get the structures realized first. We also will be planing lots of Lavender, I already have a lot of plants started indoors: munstead and tall english.

• lavender_lass
    12 years ago

We've had great success, with Hidcote lavender. I got them at Lowe's a few years ago...and they've been very hardy and don't mind my overwatering. They are in front of the roses, in clay soil...but don't seem to mind.

• HerrGothic
    Original Author
    12 years ago
  • HerrGothic
    Original Author
    12 years ago

that didn't work, how is this:

{{gwi:1152390}}

{{gwi:1152391}}

• lavender_lass
    12 years ago