Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amy_d_r

do you eat your daylilies?

amy_d-r
17 years ago

Howdy,

So happy to have found you. I am just starting out with my potager and with gardening, period.

I read in Ken Druse's "The Natural Garden" that all daylilies are edible. In their homeland of Asia they eat the flower buds and they supposedly taste like asparagus (yum). He can never bring himself to kill the flower, so he just picks the blossoms at night as whole garnishes for soup, etc. or chopped into salad. He says they taste like sweet lettuce.

This just seems too good to be true. Have any of you eaten your daylilies and lived to tell about it? :)

-Amy

Comments (9)

• fireflyintexas
    17 years ago

Oh yes, I do! And your friend is right, daylilies taste so good...like the sweetest lettuce. I find I'm thinking about eating the first blossom when it appears (a ritual now...after having a full bed of daylilies for the past several years.) There are recipes on the internet that has you gather daylily blooms or full buds and stuff them with a nice cream cheese/cream/green onion/herbs mixture and stuffing them gently, then chilling and serving. Yummy-sounding. I would remove the pistil and stamens in the flower before eating, but it's only because I don't want to eat the pollen....although that, to some people, is good for you.
    They are beautiful and tasty!
    Pass the daylilies....I've eaten all the colors I have in my garden and they are all good. I think the lighter colored ones have a more delicate taste....just me.
    Enjoy!
    fireflyintexas

• decolady01
    17 years ago

Oh yes! We have been eating daylilies for years. Pick the buds and quickly sauté them. Similar to asparagus, but better. I've never tried the cream cheese stuffing of the flowers, but that sounds delicious. It's now on my list to try this year!

Becky

• linda_schreiber
    17 years ago